The Best Time in My Life

“The Best Time in My Life”

(Reflection on Capstone Project)

“I shall be telling this with a sigh
somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
and that has made all the difference”

(The Road Not Taken by Robert Frost)

"The Road not Taken" Location: Luagan Lalak Forest-Brunei Darussalam. Photograph: by Evita Kartikasari

“The Road not Taken”
Location: Luagan Lalak Forest-Brunei Darussalam.
Photograph: by Evita Kartikasari

Long time ago, I took my small steps in the road less traveled by,

A little bit scary, did not know what to expect……just keep on dreaming the impossible dream.

There are times that the dark storm hung in the horizon,

And suddenly future looks so uncertain, impossible….

But deep in my heart I still belief this is the right path….

It is the only reason to continue my quest searching for that rainbow…..

'Somewhere Over the Rainbow, around our house in Brunei..." Photograph by Evita Kartikasari

‘Somewhere Over the Rainbow, around our house in Brunei…”
Photograph by Evita Kartikasari

And now……  I am standing here, face to face with my biggest dream….:

the pursuit of my Master Degree in Early Childhood Education in Walden University

I could not believe my eyes that my small step has taken me this far…

...my first steps in Walden University...  This is me (in the middle) when I was sharing my experience as Walden scholar to the people in Muscat, Oman who wanted to join the journey through Walden Uni. Location: The Intercontinental Hotel-Muscat, Oman, Middle East.

…my first steps in Walden University…
This is me (in the middle) when I was sharing my experience as Walden scholar to the people in Muscat, Oman who wanted to join the journey through Walden Uni.
Location: The Intercontinental Hotel-Muscat, Oman, Middle East.

 

Along in my journey I have learn so much….

Not just learning how to be a good writer, but also be a good listener,

Learn how to lead as well as how to serve,

Learn to focus, ….  not making the excuse!

And most of that, I learn that when I surround myself with great, enthusiastic people like you all…

It would inspire me to grow my ideas, then achieve and accomplish

the glorious quest I have been dreaming long time ago…………

"A higher degree, a higher purpose"

“A higher degree, a higher purpose”

 

At the end I thank you: the wonderful people along my journey,

Particularly in the last journey doing my Capstone Project,  

I thank you Dr. Teri Davis for a great guidance to bring us into a right path in this course

I thank you everyone as my colleague in this last course for being a great company,

Who give me the insight, encouragement, and support…..

I am glad that we ‘finish the race’ together.

I hope someday we are standing hand in hand, face to face, arm in arm…

To do what is right: to be the children’s guide

to celebrate the different colors they bring into the world….

....and so its goodbye from the wind, the sun and the sky of Borneo land... The beautiful sunset just in front of my house in Brunei.. Photograph by Evita Kartikasari

….and so its goodbye from the wind, the sun and the sky of Borneo land…
The beautiful sunset just in front of my house in Brunei..
Photograph by Evita Kartikasari

As the long sunny day that soon will pass by,

Childhood is fleeting like a blink of an eye,

All that we want is for EVERY CHILD to cherish the childhood…

so they can say that

“This is the best time in my life!”

My daughter Aubrey- This is one of the best time in her life during our traveling time to Europe. Location: Ubersee Museum- Bremen, Germany

My daughter Aubrey- this is one of the best time in her life during our traveling time to Europe.
Location: Ubersee Museum- Bremen, Germany

Regards from the Heart of Borneo-Brunei Darussalam,…

Evita Kartikasari Ferdiansyah

 

 

6 responses to “The Best Time in My Life

  1. Evita,
    Thank you for the wonderful pictures and kind words. Also, thank you for reminding me how important a child’s childhood is! Let them enjoy it and feel empowered!
    CONGRATULATIONS! You have SO much to be proud of!
    Blessings,
    Susan
    P.S. What a beautiful daughter you have! She has a smile that is so bright!

  2. Evita, What a beautiful blog; the photographs are an excellent reflection of your thoughts. Like yourself, this has also been a journey for me. I am sure that you will succeed in anything you wish to do. In March, I will be returning to the classroom again for a degree in Criminal Justice. It is my desire, to incorporate my Counseling, Early Education, and Criminal Justice to help the children who are in the court system. I will remember your encouragement.

  3. Andrea Greer-Long

    Evita,
    What beautiful pictures. Thank you for sharing them and your wisdom and experience. I wish you well in your future endeavors.

  4. Tarcila Pimentel

    Evita, I always enjoyed your posts, I see how you pour your passion in everything you do. Please keep in touch my personal e-mail is khatocha@yahoo.com I wish you the best and hope that one day in the near future I hear about your feats.

  5. Evita,
    I love reading your blog. Thank you and your blog always say so much about who you are as a person.
    stay in touch my personal email.
    shelda-20@hotmail.com

    Best Wishes to you and your family.

  6. Evita, I have enjoyed reading your blog each week! You have put a lot of thought into your blog. I wish you the best in your future endeavors! Thank you for sharing your culture and, pictures of your beautiful country!

Leave a Reply

