A Dream Job in International Early Childhood Community

A Dream Job in International Early Childhood Community

Living my life in expatriate lifestyle-which moving from country to country after a certain years-has brought my interest to involve and work in international organizations that work for positive change for children and families. There are three organization that really appeal to me:

SAVE THE CHILDREN

save-the-children-poster

Save The Children as the independent organization established in USA since 1930’s, provide the great work to enrich children’s live not only in USA but then wide spread in more than 120 countries worldwide.

This is a non-profit and international organization who provide the children around the world with a healthy start, the opportunity to learn and protection from harm. When disaster strikes, this organization put children’s needs first. Save The Children advocates for and achieve large-scale change for children.

UNITED NATIONS EDUCATION, SCIENTIFIC AND CULTURAL ORGANIZATION (UNESCO).

Multilingualism

Languages and Multilingualism Matters!

I am very interested to join the UNESCO, particularly because this organization has the aim to build the intercultural understanding through protection of heritage and support for cultural diversity.  Living my live as an expatriate for more than a decade, the issues about cultural diversity and intercultural understanding is really resonates me. As language issues are central to all fields in UNESCO’s mandate, the organization promotes an interdisciplinary approach to multilingualism and linguistic diversity involving all programs sectors: education, culture, science, communication and information and social and human sciences. I am glad that my interest and focus for my capstone project about bilingualism and preserving the mother tongue for the Indonesian expatriate children is aligned with the aim of the organization.

UNICEF

Unicef

This organization is established since six and a half decades ago, and UNICEF is keep on providing long term humanitarian and developmental assistance to children and mothers worldwide, particularly in developing countries. Until now, UNICEF is assisting children in need such as children affected by war and crisis,  but has also taken on a much broader and ever-evolving role in international development, working across political, national and social divides to provide integrated services to children and advocate for the full spectrum of their rights.

Currently there is a job role opening for everyone qualified to be applied, to be a Chief Community Development in Cambodia. One of the important job is participating in the formulation and development of program goals, strategies and approaches for the UNICEF plan of cooperation. It involves planning, implementing and monitoring assigned activities. I realize that my qualification is still very far to be a successful candidate to fulfill the job re, but at least I have something higher than myself today to dream of and achieve!

There is another prestigious job role in the UNICEF that I also really interested, but I am sure it never posted in any job search vacancies anywhere: it is the Goodwill Ambassador of UNICEF.

The role of the Goodwill Ambassador of UNICEF is to allow celebrities with a demonstrated interest in UNICEF issues to use their fame to draw attention to important issues. This may take the form of public appearances and talks, visits to troubled regions, which draw attention from the media, and use of their political access to advocate UNICEF causes.

Well, maybe you will say that I am not a celebrity, Angelina Jolie or even Katy Perry….

But I think I don’t have to be a celebrity now to have a right to dream….

..this is just another side of me, ready for singing in wedding party... Location: Jakarta-Indonesia.

..this is just another side of me, ready for singing in wedding party…
Location: Jakarta-Indonesia.

You hear my voice, you hear that sound

Like thunder gonna shake the ground

Who knows, that someday, from the middle of the Borneo jungle…

you gonna hear me ‘ROARRR’………

(inspired from the song ‘Roar’ by Katy Perry)

Regards from Borneo-Brunei Darussalam,

Evita Kartikasari

References

United Nations Children Fund (UNICEF). (n.d.). Retrieved November 28, 2011, from http://www.unicef.org/

United Nation Education, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO). (2011). Retrieved from http://www.unesco.org/new/en/unesco/about-us/who-we-are/introducing-unesco/

 

4 responses to “A Dream Job in International Early Childhood Community

  1. Evita,

    First, I would like to say how beautiful you look in your gown! You do look like royalty!

    I, too chose Save the Children. All children need that healthy start and this organization focuses on the child and as an advocate for that child. UNESCO is a great organization, as well. Oftentimes, children lose their native tongue. I am very glad you have chosen this as your Capstone project! I agree with you; children need to hold on to that native language!

    Thank you for your information listed about the three organizations you chose. I believe all three are worthy for all educators to put in their resource library!

    Good luck to you!

    Susan

  2. Tarcila Pimentel

    Evita, your post has been really enjoyable, you have such a grace to express your ideas. No doubt that you may reach the summit in our field if you develop your leadership skills. You may not be a celebrity, but you may become a heroine. I encourage you to follow your dream to work in the internationally EC community and see any worldwide position as reachable because after all, the world is our home!

  3. Evita, I too choose UNICEF as one of my organizations. They have several different focus areas for helping children. While they are all important, I like the child protection aspect where they help protect innocent children from violence, exploitation, and abuse. By the way, you look stunning in your gown. I totally agree, a person does not have to be a celebrity to have a dream. I am certain that you will be successful in what ever you put your mind to do.

  4. Evita,
    You really amaze me. Your posts are always great and give great information. You look so beautiful in your gown. You are a star and I wish you the best in all of your future endeavors.

    Tarshia

Leave a Reply

