“We are all alike, we are all different…..”

“We are all alike, we are all different…..”

Being born and raised up in Indonesia, a country rich in cultural diversity, that consists more than 13.000 islands, more than 300 of distinct natives, linguistic groups, …..many different religions practiced,

The Indonesian children with various culture and diversity....

The Indonesian children with various culture and diversity….

And…..

….being a ‘global nomad’-living as the expatriate for more than a decade until now with my family as well as visiting many countries around the world….

“The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.” ― Augustine of Hippo

“The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.”
― Augustine of Hippo
Photograph: by my daughter Aubrey

All of the experiences were really shaping me to be who I am today-and brings my deepest interest to understand and learn more about diversity around me.

When I learn more about Anti-Bias Education, I feel like I find what I am longing for: the answer to my questions to understand diversities around me

deeper and wider…beyond what my eyes can see…

Diversity is not just about the different nationalities, different traditional outfits, different taste of food, different ceremonies, different race, languages, skin color….

Understanding diversity is beyond all of these things that we could say as a ‘tourist curriculum”… it is included something that we cannot see such as the children and their families’ different culture, custom, believe, bias and  prejudice toward the other people who are very different than they are.

arms-around-the-world-promo

I believe that my knowledge about anti bias education as well as my experience as a preschool teacher has added deeper understanding to treat the children around me in a better way to understand the diversity around them.It gives me such a wonderful insight, perspectives and experience to fulfill my role as a parent for my two young children as well.

I have a wish…

That as an adult, I can be an active guide to the children’s thinking about diversity, and guide them in a accurate way to understand about people who are different from themselves. So every child, no matter who they are and their condition would be able to say that

“We are all alike, we are all different… and it is amazing!”

12620342-smiling-children-looking-at-something-off-screen-each-one-holding-a-balloon

I have a hope….

That someday every child in the world would be able to feel proud of themselves and their families, to respect human differences, to recognize bias as well as speak up for what is right….

 Last but not least,…

I would like to thank to Dr. Janet Kien for her wonderful guidance and encouragement for my study in this course… and of course I would like to thank to all of my fellow classmates:

Amber Wilson, Dotsy Roberts, Jessica Caputo, Jelena Subotic, Marquis Wright, Mellisa Fowlkes, Mellisa Gentry, Shelda Millien, Tracy Zarieff and Whitney Drew.

for a valuable sharing, discussion, knowledge and encouragement along in my journey understanding the anti-bias education… Hopefully from now on we can built such a wonderful network to hand in hand together to make a difference in children’s life around us with our knowledge.

Each of us may follow our own unique path to make a difference in children’s life…. but we are all in the same journey…

My son Fernando -waving his hand sending you the warmest regard from Brunei Darussalam. The back ground behind is the Sultan Omar Ali Saifuddien Mosque, most beautiful mosques in the Asia Pacific and a major landmark and tourist attraction of Brunei. The main dome of the mosque is covered in pure gold.

My son Fernando -waving his hand sending you the warmest regard
from Brunei Darussalam.
The back ground behind is the Sultan Omar Ali Saifuddien Mosque, most beautiful mosque in the Asia Pacific and a major landmark and tourist attraction of Brunei.
The main dome of the mosque is covered in pure gold.
Photograph: by Evita Kartikasari

 

Until we meet again, my friends…

My warmest regards from the Heart of Borneo, Brunei Darussalam

To you all!

August 2013

Evita Kartikasari

10 responses to ““We are all alike, we are all different…..”

  1. I love this Evita, This is done with such conviction. I have truly enjoyed viewing your blogs. I do wish you all the luck in your life ventures.

    • Thank you very much, Dotsy!
      wish we could always be keep in touch in the future for keep on sharing and encouraging our work in early childhood field!

      Good luck for your next journey!
      Evita Kartikasari

  2. I have enjoyed your blog throughout this entire class. Thank you for giving 100% so that we could learn from you and your experiences.

  3. Evita,
    I truly enjoyed reading your posts and thank you for sharing so many insights and photos as well. I wish you a lot of luck in your future professional career.

  4. This post is a great representation of what we have learned. I also find your term “tourist curriculum” to be a great term to describe a lot of multicultural curriculum. You have a lot of unique experiences that you can bring to a team. Thank you for your posts.

    • Thank you Amber!

      knowing you as a classmate is a great experience as well, since everyone would contribute a different and unique way. Once again, it proves how we are alike as well as we are different, and it makes our team work even stronger!

      Regards,

      Evita Kartikasari

  5. Evita, I have truly enjoyed reading your blog each week! You take great care in the presentation and, I admire that! Thank you for sharing so much of your culture and, your experiences with all of us! I wish you the best in your path to making a difference in the life of a young child.

    • Thank you very much, Mellisa!

      wishing you all the best in your next journey of learning.
      maybe someday we will be in the same path again,
      in our journey in early childhood field..

      Good luck and all the best
      Evita Kartikasari

Leave a Reply

