Know Thyself

Know Thyself

Know Thyself

One day in my friend’s Facebook page, I saw an interesting advertisement video. It was the latest video commercial of Dove, the beauty products especially for woman. I was tempted to click it and see what it is in the video. There in the three minutes version of the video I saw a forensic sketch artist who is asked to draw a series of women based only on their description. The artist worked based on the series of question about their feature. Each of the women was asked to describe their physical feature such as describing their chin, face, hair, eyes and many more.

Gil Zamora, a forensic artist, sketching one of the women in an online video shot in a San Francisco loft for Unilever’s Dove brand.

Gil Zamora, a forensic artist, sketching one of the women in an online video shot in a San Francisco loft for Unilever’s Dove brand.

After the forensic sketch artist finishes drawing the woman, then he draws another sketch of the same woman, only this time is based on how someone else describe her.

Right after that, the sketches the displayed side by side, and the women are asked to compare them. To my surprise, most of the second sketch looks better is more fluttering than the first one. What does it mean? I just realize that it means there are still many women in the world that undervalue themselves and the way they look.

dove_real-beauty-sketches

It reminds me of the self-assessment that I just took recently to broaden my understanding on my communication/listening skills toward myself. Assessing myself with the Communication Anxiety Inventory (Rubin, Palmgreen, & Sypher, 2009), I found out that I perceived myself as having a slight anxiety during my communication with others. The scale would place me in the category having mild level of anxiety in my communication. To my surprise, when I asked my two important people in my life, which is my husband and my friend, they would perceive me differently! Both of them would perceive me the same as having the low level of anxiety when I communicate with them. Hmmm so which one is true then? My self-assessment or other people’s assessment on me?

Well I think it is not about which fact is truer than the other fact, but it is more about how we are aware on what we are thinking about ourselves as well as what other people’s thinking about ourselves. What we are thinking about ourselves is as important is what other is thinking on ourselves too! But if the fact would lead us to the different fact, it means it is the time for us to do the self-reflection.

Reflection on my birthday last year... would I still be the same person this year or even better?  Location: Al Waha-The Shangrila, Muscat,Oman-Middle East

Reflection on my birthday last year… would I still be the same person this year or even better?
Location: in front of the Calligraphic artwork in Al Waha Lobby-The Shangrila, Muscat,Oman-Middle East

At the end, I believe that what the ancient Greek aphorism “Know Thyself” is true. Just as what Lao Tzu said centuries ago: He who knows others is wise. He who knows himself is enlightened”. I just wish that my self-knowledge could be the foundation for me to find peace, happiness and become who I am mean to be in this life.

Brunei Darussalam,

June 2013

Evita Kartikasari

References

Dove Real Beauty Sketches Video. Retried from http://www.youtube.com/user/doveunitedstates

Rubin, R. B., Palmgreen, P., & Sypher, H. E. (Eds.) (2009). Communication research measures:    A sourcebook. New York: Routledge.

Leave a Reply

