RAINBOW of HOPES

RAINBOW of HOPES

 

I see trees of green, skies are blue... and I said to my self: what a wonderful land of Brunei Darussalam. A Photograph by Evita Kartikasari

I see trees of green, skies are blue… and I said to my self: what a wonderful land of Brunei Darussalam. A Photograph by Evita Kartikasari

Surrounded by magnificent pine, palm and tropical trees

The pristine emerald rainforest,

A place where the wildlife is greeting me every day on my doorstep:

The chirping of the rare hornbill birds would wake me in the morning

The hissing of the monitor lizard would greet me at the day,

 the jumping and squeaking of the monkeys would accompany my afternoon tea….

Up, close and personal with the monkey family is a daily scene I encounter here. This is the monkey family during their visit in my front yard

Up, close and personal with the monkey family is a daily scene I encounter here. This is the monkey family during their visit in my front yard

Well, maybe it was just land that only exist in your dream

but it is a real place we called home now

This is my husband and my son when they have a morning walk around our house in Brunei , which surrounded with the tropical jungle scenery-with the wildlife on our doorstep everyday.

This is my husband and my son when they have a morning walk around our house in Brunei , which surrounded with the tropical jungle scenery-with the wildlife on our doorstep everyday.

Somewhere out there in Borneo land,

Where children from every color gather from every land

Around me, they bring their own beauty

Unify their uniqueness of diversity

Brings beauty out of their differences

Just like the rainbow that always emerges here after the rain. .

Somewhere over the rainbow....  This is  the rainbow in Brunei's sky that  I captured with my camera..

Somewhere over the rainbow….
This is the rainbow in Brunei’s sky that I captured with my camera..

Then when I look into the rainbow in the sky,

I see the promise to the entire children in this land,

A promise of the best day in their life…

A hope that the day will come when all children will be nurtured

and be able to be who they are

with no barrier of prejudice, discrimination, poverty or war.

One day, when I look into the rainbow in the sky,

And see how its colors are so bright,

It reminds me to do what is right,

To be the children’s guide to celebrate

the different colors they bring into the world…

To learn about and value one another’s diversity

To preserve the rainbow of hopes in every children’s heart forever…

This is my daughter Aubrey, enjoying the afternoon walk after the rainy day. Enjoyed the smell of the wet ground, cherishing the raindrops in the leaves and splahsing the barren feet in the puddle full of mud...  I wish everyday I could make her say that today is the best day of her life....

This is my daughter Aubrey, enjoying the afternoon walk after the rainy day. Enjoyed the smell of the wet ground, cherishing the raindrops falling on the leaves and splashing the barren feet in the puddle full of mud…
I wish everyday I could make her and the children around me say
that today is their best day of their life….

Brunei Darussalam,

April 2013

A poem by Evita Kartikasari

PS: I would like to express my gratitude to my mentor this week Professor Dr. Davenna Willliams, NBCT for the positive feedback and guidance for my writing. I also would like to give thanks to my colleagues: Lisa Martin, Nyiedium Ifiok-Ufot and Shelda Millien for their priceless sharing of their life, their knowledge and support that keep on enriching me in so many ways.

3 responses to “RAINBOW of HOPES

  1. Simply beautiful. Evita, you have brought me to tears with the eloquence of your words. I want to thank you so much for sharing your hopes and dreams for our children in such beautiful prose and for sharing your experiences and thoughts with me week after week. In the past eight weeks you have taken what I thought was a horrible thing – being an expatriate and portrayed it as a marvelous opportunity of which you are taking full advantage and in turn blessing any child who has the privilege of being in your classroom. I hope our paths cross again on this journey and wish you continued success.

  2. nyiedum ifiok-ufot

    Thanks for this wonderful post. I would wonder how you find the time to work on your blog amidst a busy schedule. I want to appreciate you for actually portraying cultural diversity in this course and sharing your family pictures with us. Your posts are always full of hope and exciting. I can’t forget the blog post on the research done by CNN on racism. It was very informative, thank you for sharing. I wish you all the best in future courses and hope we work together again.

  3. Evita thank you for sharing such wonderful and inspiring messages to us all. I always enjoy reading your post because you bring so much creativity and excitment to what ever topic we have for the week. And reading your post today in the form of poetry was amazing. Continue to do the wonderful work that you do and I wish you the best in the future.

Leave a Reply

