Imagine…. (A Reflection about My Family Culture)

…imagine……..

if today is the last day that You can stay in your country. ..

Major catastrophe… oh my!… The Tsunami!

Tsunami
 Tsunami hit my country-Indonesia and other South Asian countries  in 2004.
                                            Imagine if it is happening again now. . . .
 
You will be saved if only you are willing to be evacuated to the other countries, that are willing to take refugees…
And live there for the rest of your life…
since your surrounding now is disappear in the blink of an eye….in the enormous wave of Tsunami that You never imagine before…
…to another country?
 
Means a totally foreign place that You never knew before . . . !  No body knows what country is that…You only get a very short time to pack the things that you can bring and go NOW if you want to be alive…
 
The rescuer only allows to take THREE SMALL ITEMS with you. NO MORE ! There is no much time left to think…You must make a quick decision !
 
Hm…if it is really happened to me…I will take the three items that I hold dearly and represent my family culture. . . So what will be that valuable, precious things then????
 
First item… I will bring the book of Bible with me. . 
I choose the bible because this is the book that contains
the important principle of life for our family.
According to what I believe, I will have the strength to carry on in any circumstances if I devote my life in Jesus Christ.
As what Henry Miller said that TRUE STRENGTH lies in submission which permits one to dedicate his life, through devotion, to something beyond himself. In the uncertain circumstances that I will face, I believe this is that what I need.
 
.

Anywhere I go now, I bring The Holy Bible that me and my husband have since our marriage in 2003.
Anywhere I go now, I bring The Holy Bible that me and my husband have since our marriage in 2003.
Second item, I will take my family photo with me.
The family photo with the picture of me with my husband and the children. . .  Maybe it is only a piece of paper, but it will be a true reminder of the reason why I am here in this world. I will put my family photo in the My Bible as the bookmark, so anytime I read the bible, I will also remember the people that I truly love. . .
 
 
I will bring this photo and put in my Bible as the bookmark. This is my family, we were enjoying the simple thing- just to be together like this is real treasure. ( Location: Al-Ihlam Park Muscat, Oman-Middle East)
I will bring this photo and put in my Bible as the bookmark. This is my family, we were enjoying the simple thing- just to be together like this is real treasure. ( Location: Al-Ihlam Park Muscat, Oman-Middle East)
 
And the third item?? …
hmmm since the rescuer said only little item that I can bring… maybe I will bring my iPad! Why? Because iPad is the small-lightest computer with unlimited possibilities to access and communicate with other larger databases and other computers.
 
 I imagine that with my iPad, I will be able to access my data in my online study in Walden University (actually I am still worried and thinking how will I continue my study in a new country where I will be evacuated soon !),
or get access  to my big families in my country through the social networking…. On the other hand, as a beginner photographer, I can simply take photos with this gadget to make a documentation of my last goodbye to my country. . . Well, I am not trying to be a sales representative of Apple Inc. but I simply think about an item that will suit all my need . . . one for all. . .
 
Is it really the item that can do anything for me? One for all??
Is it really the item that can do anything for me? One for all??
 
On my way to the “Promised Land” as a refugee, suddenly I was warned to give up the two items I brought-I am allowed to keep only ONE of my three precious things that I have been considered so deeply to take along with me wherever I go. . .  the things that I consider representing who I am. . .
 
 
Ohhh three essential things I am holding in my hand.
 
 
And sorry I could not having them all…..
 
 
And to choose the one most essential thing in my life,
 
 
Long I stood, close my eyes and ponder….
 
 
I like to think and ponder, especially when it comes to my birthday...  to find out who I am. Reflection on my birthday-Location:  The Shangrila Barr Al-Jissah, Muscat-Oman
I like to think and ponder, especially when it comes to my birthday… to find out who I am. Reflection on my birthday-Location: The Shangrila Barr Al-Jissah, Muscat-Oman
 
 
I shall be telling this with a sigh,
 
Somewhere ages and ages hence,
 
Three precious things I am holding in my hands,
 
but two of them I have to let go. . .
 
And I, I take only ONE most precious thing I believe
will take me to the eternal life,
the valuable values for me to handle the unfair circumstances
and bad events of life victoriously…
And I took the one less sophisticated of them both. . .
And that has made all the difference. . .
 
The silhouette of my family- we surrender our life in the hand of Jesus. .   (Location: The Wahiba Sand Desert- Oman, Middle East)     “The most beautiful things in the world cannot be seen or even touched, they must be felt with the heart” ( Hellen Keller)
The silhouette of my family- we surrender our life in the hand of Jesus. . (Location: The Wahiba Sand Desert- Oman, Middle East) “The most beautiful things in the world cannot be seen or even touched, they must be felt with the heart” ( Hellen Keller)
 
( Hey. .  I forget to mention that the only thing that I finally take is the book of BIBLE??? )
 
(…. Errr …. wait a minute… I also forget to tell you that the Bible has my family photo as the bookmark in it??? )
 
If this kind of situation happened to you, what will be your most valuable item that you will take along with you no matter what??
 
There is no right or wrong, please feel free to share your point of view in my blog!!
 
 
Reflection in the middle of the jungle of Borneo, Brunei Darussalam
March, 2013
By Evita Kartikasari
 
 
The poem at the end of the post is inspired by the poem
“The Road Not Taken” by Robert Frost 1916
4 responses to “Imagine…. (A Reflection about My Family Culture)

  1. Love your post Evita. Like you I ended up with my Bible, as my faith has lifted me through many trials. I loved your quote from Henry Miller, and the way you added the pictures. Your country looks so beautiful. It seems we all sort of wanted to take the same things our Bible, photos, and a laptop. For me this was really just a hypothetical, but you have actually lived through the devastation of a Tsunami. I am glad that you and your husband were spared, judging from the photo your children were not born yet. I pray that we never have to grab three small items and leave our respective countries.

  2. nyiedum ifiok-ufot

    I love the dramatic way you told your story, I also think it’s smart of you to have put your photograph in your bible as a bookmark. They were indeed tough decisions to make.

  3. I enjoy reading your post. To many of us here our families are very important to us and that is why many of us carry pictures of different family members with us. Beautiful families.

  4. Evita- I really enjoyed reading your post. You really painted a wonderful picture of those things that are dear to your heart. Especially the Bible! I totally agree that the God’s Word is most important, it is the key to survival. And putting a bookmark with your family portrait on it is clever. I like it! Thank you so much for sharing.

Leave a Reply

