The Journey of My Professional Growth….

The Journey of My Professional Growth….

Let the passion lead my way…

“You are educated. Your certification is in your degree. You may think of it as the ticket to the good life. Let me ask you to think of an alternative. Think of it as your ticket to change the world.”

 
Tom Brokaw-American Television Journalist And Author (born 1940);

 

Today I would like to thank to my best friend Titik Kristiyani, S.Psi, M.Si for her support to enrich my professional development in early childhood field. As a lecturer, a wife and a mother of two young boys, I realized that my fellow Titik Kristyani is such a busy person, yet she was still willing to share her experience with me in early childhood field. I do appreciate her precious time and willingness to replay my emails and answer my question about the early childhood field there, in our country, Indonesia. It is such a tremendous support for my growth and development as a professional in this field.

It was quite an inspiration for me personally that my fellow Titik Kristyani still have the time and passion to give to the society around her especially in the early childhood field around her. Her commitment to early childhood field, her professionalism and her value for friendship is really the inspiration for me!

By learning about the international early childhood field, either from my best friend Titik as the international contact or by reviewing such a wonderful websites from UNICEF, or from all of the learning for 8 weeks about the issues and trends in early childhood field, I learned three consequences from these:

  1. Poverty is everywhere in this world, not only very visible in the poor countries but also even in the wealthy country, sometimes hidden and invisible. Therefore, we need to be sensitive to detect and aware of this phenomenon around us to give the best support needed especially for the children.
  2. In this rapid changing world, and the information is easier to obtain, people tend to move from one place to place, from one country to another. It brings the consequences for the children and family to face the changing demographics and diversity.
  3. Equity and excellence play a big role in the children’s education, such as using the standards; prepare the school readiness and awareness of the achievement gap.  Therefore, educator needs to be aware of the intended and unintended consequences of these issues above.

Inspired with Boutte (2008), my goal as an educator is: I have to be ready to prepare students from diverse populations and background to live in a rapidly changing world in which some groups have greater societal benefit than others because of race, ethnicity, gender, class, language, religion, ability or age. I also need to be aware of the poverty around me, especially if it is invisible, so that I can give the best support for the children who needed the most support for an equal education for all.

Thanks for the great sharing and learning experience....

I also give thanks to our mentor Dr. Myers for the great knowledge to support and guide us throughout this course and for all my colleagues for the great support and sharing the knowledge, especially to learn about the issues and trends in early childhood field around the world.

It was such an enriching experience for me, professionally and personally

Muscat, Sultanate of Oman

April 2012

Evita Kartikasari

Leave a Reply

