Sharing Web Resources “Zero to Three: Early Experiences Matter!”

“Zero to Three: Early Experiences Matter!”

 

I am a mother of two years old boy….

I am a preschool teacher who teaching the two years old in the class…..

I am a Master Degree-candidate who study about the early childhood education……

Me and my son, Fernando. Cherish one moment in time in our summer holiday in Burger Park, Bremen-Germany.

All of that reasons above are more than enough for me to be interested in this wonderful website as a daily life reference for me. This wonderful website is

“Zero to Three” (http://www.zerotothree.org/). 

Zero to Three’, as a national, multidisciplinary, non-profit organization that support the health development and the well-being of the infant, toddler and the families. ‘Zero To Three’ is the resource on the formative first three years of life. 

What I really interested in this ‘Zero to Three’ website is that this website is not just provide information to enhance the children’s well-being, development and health, but it is also inform, trains and support the professionals, policymakers and parents in their effort to improve the lives of infants and toddlers.

The section about the EARLY LANGUAGE AND LITERACY caught my attention much. Language, as the amazing human communication tools-whether in print, spoken or gesture-are all strategies human beings use to communicate.

Singing and exploring the sound of the piano is one of my son-Fernando's favorite activities to do at home. This is a fun activity to encourage him to understand many words trough singing.

Many people still think that learning to read and write just start in Kindergarten or first grade. Well… it does not!

The ‘Zero to Three’ website will amaze you with so many actual and up-to-date information about the early language and literacy. Whoever you are: whether you are a parent, a professional or a policymaker- you will be reminded again about the old fact that you already know but often forgot recently:                       that developing language and literacy skills begins at birth through everyday loving interactions—sharing books, telling stories, singing songs, and talking to one another, and many more.

Happy exploring this great website!

My Fernando: Happy Exploring in Adventure Zone, Barr Al-Jissah, Shangri-La, Muscat, Oman

Regards from Muscat

Evita Kartikasari

Reference

Zero to Three. http://www.zerotothree.org/

4 responses to “Sharing Web Resources “Zero to Three: Early Experiences Matter!”

  1. I agree with your comments about how important early language and literacy are! As educators, understanding that importance and that is does NOT start in kindergarten, but from birth, will help us create strong skills in those areas for children. You provided some great information on this site and it will be one i will be visiting soon. I really enjoyed your pictures, by the way. They show your passion for children!

  2. I agree with you that language and literacy does not start in Kindergarten. I feel it starts in the mother’s womb. When I was pregnant with my children I started talking and reading to the both of them as soon as I found out that I was pregnant. It is wonderful that this organization is working to imporve the lives of infants and toddlers.

  3. Great Insight about the organization. The visuals are also very good. I think as professionals we will need this as being well rounded in our field.

  4. Hello Evita! Those pictures of your son are adorable. I will be visiting the “zerotothree” website soon. The title is so inviting because I love working with children in this age group. They are so precious, innocent and full of curiosity. Thank You for sharing such interesting information.

Leave a Reply

