My Support

“Because you love me”

You were always there for me

The tender wind that carried me

A light in the dark shining your love into my life

You’ve been my inspiration

Through the lies you were the truth

My world is a better place because of you

You were my strength when I was weak

You were my voice when I couldn’t speak

You were my eyes when I couldn’t see

You saw the best there was in me

Lifted me up when I couldn’t reach

You gave me faith ‘coz you believed

I’m everything I am

Because you loved me

(A song by Celine Dion)

 Just to let you know that this is my favorite songs from Celine Dion.

This song always reminds me that to be who I am now, it is all because other people around me decided to love me-

tenderly, deeply and unconditionally…

The people are my husband, my children, my parents (although they are million miles away from me here), my friends and my colleagues in my work and my study. I was so lucky to be surrounded with the wonderful people  and each of them present a kind of unique support and love for me to be who I am today, to grow and glow.

My husband Erik: He was my friend since we were in university-he’s a shoulder to cry on, always ready to listen to my daily chit-chat (well, sometimes it is not really important thing to talk about-but yes he is still willing to listen!), my partner in discussing many serious thing in life. He is a romantic and loyal partner, but yet a great leader too. He is a hard worker, great achiever, excellent engineer but also a gentle father to my children. He is such a complete package for me and I am so grateful and thankful for this!

My soul mate, my best friend - my husband Erik and my son Fernando was enjoying the sunshine in our holiday in Edinburgh Castle-Scotland.

Oh, I almost forget something: yes, he is a great provider to me and my children. Being with him, we always living with abundance of great life experiences. Good food, great house with mountainous view and free maintenance (truly speaking, the company where my husband works provide us with the wonderful home, including the environment), education for all (it means not just for my children, but including me!), stunning places to visit in the holiday around the world…. and a promise of a bright future! I think I made a right choice when I said “I do” in front of the altar in the church 9 years ago. Until now, he is still my greatest sources of faith, hope and love!!

The people around me are keeping on giving me a great supports for me to be who I am today.

They are:

My children: to give me reason to life and achieve my best potential

My children Aubrey and Fernando, enjoying the sunshine in front of our home in Oman. They were born, raised, and grow up here in the Sultanate of Oman, among the arabian desert, rocky mountain high, the date trees, the turquise blue sandy beaches.... They are my children of the sun.

My circle of friends around me here in Muscat: they are all my family I have here, in bad times and good times-we supported each other, celebrated together, we cried together, we pray together, we’re having fun together! That what friends are for!

Friendship is the ship that never sinks. My circle of friends here in Muscat-Oman. We really enjoyed the weekend with each of our family member here in the Shangri-La Resort, Muscat-Oman

My full time domestic worker-who always willing to give me a hand  to do my  household and take care and love my children, even she herself had to leave her own children and family in our country Indonesia in order to work here with me. Well, at least knowing that her children will have a proper education with the money she earned because of her hard work here makes me feel good about it!  

With the abundance of support that I have, I really feel blessed, contented and living in my comfort zone. But maybe then I forget how to be empathy to the people who really need support and life differently than I do now. For example the unfortunate people who are blind or deaf and having many difficulties in their life.

Am I brave enough to imagine myself to life in someone else’s shoes-means imagining being one of them?   I must step outside my comfort zone to find out how….

Because when I can find out how to have empathy with the people who really need support around me….. I start to appreciate all the support that I have.  

I realize that NOW is really the time to share what I have to really make a change … and a difference!

Muscat, 10 December 2011

3 responses to “My Support

  1. Evita,

    I am so happy for you that you are in such a good place right now! It sounds like things are really going your way. I hope you do find the motivation to help out others who may not be as fortunate as you are. There is always someone who could use a little support! Thanks for sharing a part of yourself with us.

    Cari

    • Hi Cari,
      thanks for your apreciation especially when you mention to find a motivation to help others. It is awake up call for me. I do hope the with my study here in Walden Uni I can touch so many more souls, especially the one in need.

      Thanks for your nice words
      Regards from Muscat

      Evita Kartikasari

  2. Hi Evita,
    Hope all is well and that you and your family are in great health as we go forward in this new year of 2012. I did not see your name in our roster and have sent you an email to your Walden email.

    I hope to hear from you and best regards,

    Susana O’Brien

Leave a Reply

