Codes of Ethical Conduct and my Statement of Commitment in Early Childhood Field

“Ethics is the science which enables us to understand humanity as it is and humanity as it could be; and then instruct us on how to move from reality to the ideal. To act ethically is to exercise choice which ends in right action. Virtue is the cause of right choice”.

McIntyre, 1981

“Above all, we shall not harm children. We shall not participate in practices that are disrespectful, degrading, dangerous, exploitative, intimidating, emotionally damaging or physically harmful to children”.

National Association for the Education of Young Children, 1998
http://www.naeyc.org/files/naeyc/file/positions/PSETH05.pdf

This Code of Ethics should be my guide in my daily life working with young children. It defines my responsibility to support children-without harm-to reach challenging and achievable goals. As a profession, I must hold myself to the highest standard in order to provide, safe, healthy, nurturing and responsive settings for children when I make decision.

As a conscientious practitioner, I must possess the Ideals guide action. I would like to share three of them to you all:

  1. I must be familiar with the knowledge base of early childhood care and education and keep current through continuing education and in-service training.

    Me and my beloved son Fernando were enjoying the summer in Burger Park-Bremen, Germany. My passion to love him more each day will be the drive to love all the children around me. I will let my passion lead me in this path...

  2. I must recognize and respect the uniqueness and the potential of each child, respect the dignity of each family and its culture, language, custom, and beliefs.

    My daughter Aubrey (the girl with red flower in her head) was so excited to perform and to show the world how enchanting the diversity of her country, Indonesia. In front of more than 650 people in Muscat, Oman-she told to the world about the various culture of Indonesia, which consist of more than 13.000 islands and 300 different ethnics! How enchanting!

  3. Create a climate of trust and candor that will enable staff to speak and act in the best interest of children, families, and the field of early childhood care and education.

    Me and my workfellow, the wonderful Jenny. We are not just a great team work in the class, but we are also great friends. Last night we had a dinner in an Italian Restaurant -Hmm delizioso!!

From day by day, I really wish to continue to learn, grow and contribute as a professional in early childhood field…. I know I am in a right way…..

8 responses to “Codes of Ethical Conduct and my Statement of Commitment in Early Childhood Field

  1. Evita, you are so gifted..I really enjoy your blog.Great job..

  2. JORDANN NELSON

    Great Blog I really enjoyed reading and reflecting on what you feel is most vital. Such an easy and organized set up on your Blog.

  3. Your first idea is the same as I chose. To be able to teach and help children is an ongoing process. We need to gain various resources from articles, books, online sources to keep current.

  4. Wow what an amazing way to portray your ideals! I especially enjoy the picture of your daughter in her cultural dress and I understand why that particular ideal resonates with you so strongly. Also the quote from NAEYC (1998) is so concise but says so much. Above all, we as educators and professionals in this field, should ever harm children or allow anyone else to.

  5. Thanks for your great comment and support always , Teacher Flo!
    Anytime you have free time, please feel free to visit us in Muscat. We’ll be very happy to meet you…

    From Muscat to Abu Dhabi with love,

    Evita Kartikasari

  6. JORDANN NELSON

    I just want to thank you for your Blog I truly Enjoyed learning from you with all that you shared and offered. Have a great Summer !

Leave a Reply

